Rajma Chawal

Rajma Chawal /Rice is loved by all from child to an adult everyone enjoys this delicacy. Rajma / kidney beans are made from all the similar spices used in any other curry ,but I make it in a different way by using  whisked curd. I had eaten this delicacy after my marriage in my in laws place for the first time. Form then onwards I prepare rajma  as it was taught to me by my mom in law.This dish is dedicated to her, as now she is no more but whenever I cook this dish I find her beside me .
Preparation time – 30 minutes | Serves – 4
Ingredients

  • 2 cups rajma soaked overnight
  • 3 cups water
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric powder
  • Salt to taste
  • A pinch of asafoetida / heeng
  • 2  tsps ginger garlic paste
  • 2 tbsp oil
  • 1 tsp red chilli powder
  • 2cups whisked curd

Method

  1. Boil rajma with turmeric powder, heeng & salt  , cook till rajma is tender.Mash them little with a masher.
  2. Mix whisked curd with the rajma & add water also. Boil well.
  3. Now take oil in pan add ginger garlic paste, red chilli powder, fry little ,now add this tempering to the rajma and boil well. Now rajma / kidney beans is ready to serve hot with steamed rice.

Enjoy this new taste of rajma , I am sure you will enjoy as we do .

image

XO

Poonam

One thought on “Rajma Chawal

Leave a Reply

